Oil & cooling - New car - new member thx!

sphot

20230607_193736.jpg

Hello all, thank you for participating, I have been reading already many pages of info, looking forward to learn and share a lot. After seeing a modded '42 sedanet in the Netherlands when I was a student 25 years ago, this super model was on my mind... :) Now finally entitled to work on a '46 Super Sedanet (yeah!), the car likely was 9 years just standing still. When I have cleaned the cooling system, I will test starting the block with the new battery.

Any tips for removing the actual impeller from the water pump? If I can find time (to edit) I might make videos 'how to' for others in the future, have not found one yet. There is lots of rust in the radiator, hoses, waterpump housing, engine block (....), I still have hope, deserves an effort..

Webshops or shops for buying new waterpump shaft, impeller, and related parts including new bolts?

I have read that there were Straight 8s with and without oil filter in those years, there was no oil filter on mine when I received it. On picture 2 a screw can be seen driven into the block (in the middle of the picture; left off the battery connection at the block; if this is not for oil filter, what would it been for?) and at the bottom of the block (at approximately the same Y axis) there is a bolt coming out of the block. Was this factory made?, added later?, and specifically made for an oil filter or otherwise? How can I find out what was the original set up? In the user manual I cannot find this information. There is only an oil filter shown, no details how it was fixed.
If I would add an oil filter, what is best practice where to add the lines in the block?

Speaking about the correct (safety) battery connection (just bought new 6V battery; there was none with the car), is this set-up the recommended one :
- the connector from the engine to the minus (black) pole at the battery
- the positive (red) pole to the starter