Rear Mainbearingseal on 248

Jenz38

Hi Guys,
My Engine leaks horrible at the rear,
now I will seal up my Rearmainbearing with a set of rubberseals from Bestgasket No. 3764,
or a set of a sealing-rope No.5143
Can everybody tell me how it works? what must i machining for it?
Or any other Idear?
Thanks ahead Jenz

I don't have a problem with the original rope seals, but you must install them with the crank out, imho.

All you should need for the rubber to seal is a good surface on the crank.

Hi Guys

I will try it with the (good old)Ropeseal but the outer diameter from the BestgaketRUBBERseal is too small to ly it in the deep Groove.The inner diameter looks like the same from the Crank.
Can anybody explain me how the rubberseal is to install? only for understanding...
Or have i get the wrong size of seal from bestgasket? Or..,or..,:clonk:I'm don't understand the
how it works.... I'm not stupid I'm a german Mechanic,may be i think too technical or what?
Thank You Guys for this infos and links.
With Friendly greetings
Jenz

THE REASON for that all..

Hi Guys,
yesterday i'm open my spare-engine(it's a 248 from a '51 Super),for looking there to the rear Mainsealing,and now I see the problem and the reason wy i'm don't understand you...: My Engine have only 1 !!! Groove for the leaking Oil,there is NOT a 2. Groove for the the Rope or in my case for my new Rubbergasket. Anybody know's why this Engine have no sealing?or when Buick start to seal up the 248 with a real Seal?In the next Weeks i get my "new"263 (Dynaflow!!)from the States,it become a completly rebuild(milling,porting,balancing,may be change to solid lifters and fix the Problem with the flywheel ..) and In the Winter i will put it in my Car -WITH CORRECT- rear sealing.

friendly greets JENZ

Rope seal